Academic Retrospectives

I came across this project today whose beauty made me want to gouge out my eyes for its suggestion of what my thesis project could have become, given a little bit more time, and a little bit more skill. The project is the Sea Folk Centre by Naito Architect & Associates and is a stunningly crafted big shed, which knits the steam-bending techniques of traditional japanese wooden boat building elegantly into a contemporary, modest architecture.

Image

Exterior

Image

Image

Basement

Image

Image

Image

Image

My thesis project too was a boat-building centre. An enormous project concerned both with its distinct internal and external spaces and also with a wider urban symbiotic strategy of which it’s aditional waste-to-energy and arboricultural programme was the intended to be the centre, It was broadly successful but in places lacked the poetry achieved here by Naito.

If you’re interested, some of my thesis images can be seen here.

On the topic, I also had an epiphany relating to a brief Library project I did in 4th year. Situated on a corner site bound by an arterial road and a three-storey sunken railway cutting, I was trying to explore the library as the street and as the garden labrinth, knitting together the vectoral neighbours with the programme in a synergetic urban response. That project remains unfinished and I do hope to find the time to complete it soon for my portfolio and my peace of mind. The epiphany came when I realised that it was not about bringing the visitor down to the tracks, but rather bringing the tracks up to the level of the street, covering over the cutting with a new piazza populated with pods of library programme as per a streetscape, linked together below.

Image

At the time my precedent of choice was the Jussieu Library by OMA, but I now realise the true star to follow would have been closer to the Aberdeen City Garden by Diller Scofidio + Renfro, who’s stratified landscape/cultural hub is an outstanding solution to a similar set of circumstances.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

As per my mission statement for this blog I think it’s good to record these things, that I’ll continue to learn going forward. Hope it was an interesting read.

K.

UPDATE:

I thought I’d dig out a couple of the explorations I did for the Boat Building Centre project relating to the Naito-style woven approach. pity I didn’t pursue them further!

Here you go:

 

columns 4

columns 1

columns 6

columns 7

ss4

K.

Leave a Reply

